Bunbun Updates!

Thursday to Saturday were basically spent catching up on chores and whatnot. I have had no time to do any of the lessons with the kids at all, but I kind of expected that. I have everything prepared still and will just continue their lessons Monday.

Today was very busy for everyone. I spent all day going through the kids’ clothes for this winter and next summer to see what will and won’t fit, sorting what was to be donated and what was to be sold (gotta make up rabbit investments). When my husband got home, we heard the news that the champagne D’Argant we were getting in a few weeks is actually coming home to us this Friday, followed by two rex does this Saturday. We also intend on breeding Radagast with Greenbean this Saturday, plus Athena is very likely pregnant. This means we need more cages, and soon. Mom and my husband spent the evening working on building new cages.

We have decided to rehome the little Polish ones. They are not show worthy and they are both male, so we can’t breed them. We need to focus on the rexes more, so the Polish will be used for bartering. This will also free up two more cages.

I’m not 100% sure what we are doing with the D’Argant. She is very sensitive to heat, and while the temperature is cooling down right now and she can stay inside for a few weeks until the weather is good, we will need to figure something out to keep her safe before it gets hot again. She is also supposed to be arriving to us pregnant, which means more purebred D’Argants. Mom and I split the cost on her, so I get to have a share of the litter. I *may* keep a male and female for breeding for the pelts, but I am not quite sure yet. It will be about 6-7 months before I can breed the babies, but their fur is unique, and champagne D’Argeants do have some value.

d'argant
Not my photo, or the one we are getting, this is just a Google search photo of a champagne D’Argant.

I think I will most definitely keep at least a female. I’m curious what the babies will look like when bred with Chester or Torgue. The genetics are always so interesting. Rhubarb and Greenbean are both broken patterned rabbits (white with splotches). Most of their babies turn out broken as well, but they have also birthed pure black, brown and gray, and even all black with little white spots scattered about like a night sky (hence the name Nova on that one). When it comes to breeding for meat rabbits, it doesn’t really matter what they look like. They need to be big, healthy, and meaty. I’d like a good variety of pelts to sew with, though, so a mixed variety is very welcomed.

I am considering getting a New Zealand pair in the future since they are pure white, and pure white would be best for dying. I’m also on the lookout for a lilac otter rex doe for Chester, although I would be happy with any other color otter, too. I adore the otter colorings. I’m quite excited to see what babies Athena and Chester birth. Some say that black Otters do well with blues, so I look forward to seeing what we get.

Speaking of those babies, Athena has been shuffling things around her cage already. I think it’s safe to say she is pregnant. Those babies will be sold to make up some of the costs we have spent investing in all this, but I may keep one or two does. I don’t have any of my own does right now. Athena is all we have, and she is my mom’s. I will be getting one Saturday, but one is not enough. I am using various charts to figure out what colorings I want to look for.

Also, speaking of looking, Mom and I plan on attending one or two rabbit shows this year! Aaaaaand, Mom informed me she will be visiting California in February and told me to make ads for any rabbits I am looking for that may be in California…

I never expected to be a crazy rabbit lady. Cat, yes. Goat, quite possibly. Saint Bernards… OH YES. Rabbit? I never counted on that. I’ve wanted a Flemish giant ever since I was 15, but I didn’t expect to become a full on breeder. I am okay with all this, though. Very okay.

Leave a comment